top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBreanna Kenney

COMICS: NOT JUST FOR KIDS

This semester I am taking a course all about comics and graphic novels. Going into the course I was quite nervous, I've never read a graphic novel before, and the only comics I have read were Marvel or DC- I had no idea that there was a whole world of graphic novels that I had yet to explore!


So far, we have read "Darkroom: a memoir in black and white" by Lila Quintero Weaver. I was shocked at how much I not only enjoyed the style of graphic novels, but how interesting the story was. The balance and juxtaposition between text and art is something I had never experienced before and absolutely loved. The story is a bildungsroman, or coming of age story about the author during the Civil Rights Movement in Alabama. The author is originally from Argentina, but moves to the United States right before the movement begins, creating an interesting perspective on an issue usually portrayed in black and white: what about the people in between? Lila is an excellent and thoughtful author who uses her drawing style as well as her elaborate storytelling to weave a new narrative into one previously known to most Americans.


Though they may seem childish, I encourage you to try picking up a graphic novel and giving them a try. Not only are they fun to read, but they are often insightful and educational about political events you may not have a lot of information or personal connection to. This is definitely a new genre of books I will be continuing to explore!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TRANSITIONING

A little off topic from my usual posts, but I thought it would be a good time to discuss my college experience as registration opens up for fall of 2019. Here is my story I came into college as a tech

bottom of page