top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBreanna Kenney

REQUIRED READS

As an English major and aspiring English teacher, I have a lot of required readings. I obviously had some in high school, but many of those were classics I had already read or quick reads. Now that I'm in college however, the reading load is much heavier, and a lot more obscure. Since I enjoy reading, it isn't too bad, but procrastination and lack of motivation often get to me, especially on the weekends.


I pride myself in being a pretty good student, but I have to admit I follow the "wait until the last minute then cram" stereotype in a lot of ways, and required readings are one of the big ones. Even if I enjoy the book, the idea of being forced to read certain books at certain times in a certain way is just so unappealing. Textbooks I can handle (though again, I'll wait until I have to) but normal books? That's another story. Having to read a chapter at a time is often hard for me, I'm a pretty quick reader (roughly 583wpm) and when I get into a story, I get INTO a story, so it's very hard for me to stop at assigned checkpoints.


So, this year, 2019, I will be trying my best to A. stop procrastinating reading B. actually read required texts, not just skim C. stay within the allotted chapters, no matter how interesting the book is


Feel free to join me in the required reading challenge if you're in school, or if you're not and want to try, pick up a book from the library and set some pleasure reading goals for yourself.


Happy reading,


Bre


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TRANSITIONING

A little off topic from my usual posts, but I thought it would be a good time to discuss my college experience as registration opens up for fall of 2019. Here is my story I came into college as a tech

bottom of page